Jaclyn Genovese: Today’s Feature Young Entrepreneur

 
We got the opportunity to chat with the brilliant mind that is Jaclyn Genovese. We have a lot of respect for any fellow entrepreneurs, being young and female we can relate even more so.

This blonde beauty is so much more than just a pretty face. This young business woman is known for her amazing fashion sense, so it’s only fitting that Jaclyn owns one of the hottest clothing stores in Toronto, Jacflash. Take a peak at our recent interview with the aspiring mogul!

 

1. Can you describe your company to everyone in a few words?

Fashion. Music. Glamour.

 

jac8

 

2. How did you start getting into this business, what was your inspiration?

I studied classical music (opera singing) in University and when I graduated I thought that I would work at a boutique and sing on the side. With my love of business and creativity, as well as growing up around a very fashion-forward family, I decided to open my own shop.

 

3. The name of your store is JacFlash, where did that name come from?

Jacflash is partly based on my name (Jaclyn- Jac has been my nickname since I was very young) and the flash is inspired but the “flash” of paparazzi lights (we wanted to make our customers feel like stars when they wear our clothes). The flash-ness of our glamorous, unique, clothing and finally The Rolling Stones song “jumping jac(k)flash” coincides with the music aspect of the store (we sell many independent artists music).

 

jac4

 

4. I love all of the clothes on your website! Where do you get the inspiration for the clothing you carry?

I get most of my inspiration from blogs and Street Style! My favorite bloggers right now are Angelica Blick, Victoria Tornegren and Fanny Lyckman (all from Sweden!).

 

5. What is the best part about what you do on a day-to-day basis?

The best thing about my job is interacting with the clientele and staff every day. You never know who you are going to meet and what could happen in a day!

 

jac9

 

6. If you could start all over again, what’s one thing you would do differently (if at all)?

I would probably start with a smaller shop and grow from there.

 

7. Do you have any advice for people who also want to open up a clothing store?

Start smaller and grow. Social media is key, especially if you are a destination shop.

 

jac7

 

8. What would you say are three key traits one would need to be successful at running a business at such a young age?

Organization, drive and patience.

 

9. Do you support any charities? (If so, which ones, and why are they so important to you?)

I volunteer at both the Upper Credit Humane Society, as well as the Noble Dog Rescue. I foster, promote and spend time with these animals.

 

jac6

 

10. Lastly, aside from running a successful clothing store what do you enjoy doing with the spare time you do get to have?

When I have a free minute I am either taking care of a foster pet, along with my adopted dog Gunther and cat Julie.
In my spare time, I recently joined the Sheraton Orchestra where I act as one of their vocalists. I usually meet with them about once a week. I also enjoy yoga, going to the park with my pets, going for a run or bike ride around the neighborhood or having a drink/dinner with friends after work. In the past, I threw parties at bars/clubs. I launched both Monday nights at the Thompson Hotel’s 1812 bar, as well as Friday nights at Nyood bar. At the moment I have cut back on the weekly promotions and have stuck to doing one off events and marketing/social media for other venues and companies such as Kanji Sushi bar and restaurant.